Gilles' Outlet

August 22, 2006

Sanding drywall

Filed under: House Remodelling — Gilles @ 5:33 pm

 
As I skim coat the ceiling, I have been sanding a lot of drywall with a hand sander. The white dust it produces is nasty and since it is a hand sander, I am relatively close to the dust production area. I wear a dust mask but it feels like it does not protect very well.
 
I am investigating several techniques to cut down my drywall dust "intake":
  1. Wet sanding: sounds good but I am concerned about the look of the finish,
  2. Pole sanding: a study by NIOSH shows that pole sanding dramatically reduces lungs exposure compared to hand sanding,
  3. Sanding block with vacuum cleaner connection: as you sand, dust is sucked in by a shop vacuum equipped with a special filter (possibly HEPA rated).
Any suggestions?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.