Gilles' Outlet

March 25, 2007

Installing fittings on a compressed air hose

Filed under: Shop Projects — Gilles @ 3:44 am

A quick connector and studs are installed on a new compressed air hose. A stud is installed on a blowgun. The assembly is tested for leaks.

 

Skill Level: 0 (Trivial)

Time Taken: About 15 Minutes

I once witnessed a brand new Crafstman jigsaw die hours after beeing purchased (and it was not even used for heavy duty stuff). Since then, I have been avoiding Crafstman products. However, I was in need of a compressed air hose for a while and today, Sears had a sale where I found this Crafstman 50′ 300 psi air hose for $19.99 so I though I’d give it a try. I also purchased blow gun, on sale too.

Left: the new air hose, a roll of teflon tape (bottom left, still shrink wrapped), the blow gun (above the teflon tape). On the right of the blow gun, the brass looking fitting is a quick connect coupler. It allows to easily connect and disconnect air tools. It is basically a "female" connector.

The two chromed fittings on the left of the blow gun are quick connect studs. These are "male" connectors.

The hose comes with threaded fittings but no connectors. This is a common practice and not specific to Crafstman. 

Right: I started the assembly by rolling teflon tape around the quick connector side of the hose. Since the diameter of the pipe is less than 1”, I made sure to make at least 3 full turns of teflon. I also rolled the teflon clockwise around the threads so it won’t jam when the quick coupler is screwed later on.

Left: I threaded the quick connect coupler and tightened it with two adjustable wrenches. It needs to be very tight but not to the point where the threads will break.

 

Right: I repeated the same operation on the other end of the hose (the stud end).

The air gun with the stud already installed. I followed the same procedure: at least three full turns of teflon. However, there was no place for me to put a crescent wrench on the gun so I held it tight by its handle (on the bottom left in the picture).

I then hooked up the quick connect end of the hose to the gun and the stud end of the hose to an air compressor. I pressured the gun and tried it. It worked fine.

I put a little bit of soapy water on all connections to check for leaks. Any air leak will cause the soapy water to bubble, making it very easy to locate any leak. It is important to ensure there are no leaks when fitting an air hose.

Now, I can use two airs tools at the same time instead of switching as I used to before. We will see how the Crafstman hose holds up.

Tools Used:

  • Two Crescent Wrenches

Materials Used:

  • Craftsman 50′ air hose 300 psi 
  • Blow Gun 
  • Quick Connector Coupler 1/4” NPT
  • 1/4” Quick Connect Studs (2)
  • Teflon Tape
  • Dish soap and Water

1 Comment »

  1. As someone who has worked doing returns for sears, I can tell you the most common failure in these hoses is some idiot slashing the hose with a razor knife when opening the box. I have seen one or two with the brass end twisted off over the years as well. I’m sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the jigsaw but really as a company sears wants to stand behind their products. More so than any other retailer I know of. You might get the occasional bad experience from a sub par employee, but that certainly isn’t what the company wants to happen.

    Comment by A.C. — October 7, 2010 @ 2:05 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Shocking Blue Green Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.